Yoga Poses for Balancing Chakras


What Are the Chakras?

Chakras are energy centers, or portals in the human energy field. Located along the central channel of the body from the base of the spine to the top of the head, they are conceived of as whirling, wheel-like vortices through which universal/cosmic energy flows into and out of a person.


There are seven major chakras, plus many minor ones. Each chakra corresponds to specific glands, organs, and facets of your being.

Energy flows through the chakra system in two ways. 


Blocked Chakras

Chakras can become blocked. The free flow of energy in and out, plus the flow of energy to other chakras, is impeded. Chakra blockages can have significant impact on your entire energy system, organs, emotions and health. 



Tree Pose (Vrksasana)

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

BENFITS: Great for feeling more alert, secure, and stable.

GOVERNS: Your family ties and feelings of survival, belonging, and guardedness. Your earliest memories are stored here, including whether or not your basic needs were met.

BLOCKED or OUT OF BALANCE: You can become needy, have low self-esteem, or have self-destructive behaviors.

IN BALANCE: You feel strong and confident; you can stand up on your own two feet and take care of yourself.





Goddess Pose (Deviasana)

Sacral or Pelvic Chakra (Svadhisthana)

BENEFITS: Great for generating creativity and emotional stability. 

GOVERNS: This chakra corresponds with your reproductive and sexual organs, and represents fluidity, creativity, and fertility. You can take a literal interpretation of this, or associate this chakra with whether or not you feel deserving of a pleasurable, abundant, creative life.

BLOCKED OR OUT OF BALANCE: When it’s out of balance, you can feel emotionally unstable, guilty, or hard on yourself.

IN BALANCE: You feel creative, positive, and receptive to change—like the ocean and its tides, you’re in the flow.





Boat Pose (Navasana)
Navel Chakra (Manipura)

BENFITS: Great for fostering personal power, change. You’ve heard the expression “firing on all cylinders.”

GOVERNS: By working on this chakra, you can awaken your true personal inner power and work through your fear of taking risks.

BLOCKED or OUT OF BALANCE: You lack courage, have low self-esteem, and feel stagnant and inert.

IN BALANCE: You feel alive and have the self-esteem and confidence to take action and be productive.




Camel Pose (Ustrasana)

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

BENEFITS: Great for being more joyful, loving, and empathetic.


GOVERNS: Awaken to the power of unconditional love within you through compassion, forgiveness, and acceptance.


BLOCKED or OUT OF BALANCE: You become possessive and codependent, and may form dysfunctional relationships. You may also stay isolated for fear of rejection.


BALANCED: You can heal past wounds by reopening your heart, learn to love unconditionally, and form healthy relationships.




Supported Shoulderstand (Salamba Sarvangasana)

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

BENFITS: Great for becoming more outspoken, finding your voice. 

BLOCKED or OUT OF BALANCE: You may feel like you can’t find your voice or your truth. You may also be overly talkative and not listen to others. BALANCED: Your voice moves through space to help you communicate your emotions in healthy ways. You also become better at listening to others and honoring their personal truths without judgment.












Easy Pose (Sukhasana)

Third-Eye Chakra (Anja)

BENEFITS: Great for learning new things, trusting your instincts.

GOVERNS: This chakra is associated with your intuition, or sixth sense, and governs how the rest of the chakras function.

BLOCKED or OUT OF BALANCE: You feel close-minded, too attached to logic, untrusting, and cynical.

BALANCED: You have insight, and you trust your inner wisdom to face life’s challenges and choices. Working on the sixth chakra opens your mind to the bigger picture and different perspectives, and it helps you receive the wisdom that cannot be seen or heard by ordinary senses. 






Corpse Pose (Savasana)

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

BENEFITS: Great for lifting your mood, detaching from ego.

GOVERNS: Connects to beauty itself and the spiritual realm. It helps you to understand who you are beyond your physical self—that you are a spiritual being having a human experience. It is not located in the body but actually hovers above the crown of the head.

BLOCKED or OUT OF BALANCE: You think happiness can only come from the outside, and you suffer.

BALANCE: Working on this chakra helps you to feel free in any situation.